This feature is in Beta and is not yet available to all customers. To enable this feature, see Feature Management.
To assist drivers who are having issues signing out, or to force a driver to exit their session, you can trigger a sign-out action for a particular driver from the Samsara Dashboard.
This can be useful in the following situations:
- A driver is still assigned to a vehicle even though their shift has ended, putting them at risk for HOS violations if that vehicle is moved
- A driver requires an update to the Samsara Driver App, which is triggered by signing out and signing back in
- You want to prevent unauthorized access to the Driver App (e.g. if a device is stolen)
Triggering a Sign-Out
An admin with appropriate permissions can access the remote sign-out capability from two different locations within the Dashboard.
NOTE: Drivers must be on v2130.600 or higher for the remote sign-out to work correctly.
From the Driver overview page
Overview > Drivers > [Driver Name]
From the driver's HOS logs page
Compliance > Driver HOS > [Driver Name]
Restrictions on Usage
In order to ensure ELD compliance, administrators will not be able to use the feature for any of the following actions.
- Remotely sign out a driver who is currently in a Driving, Yard Move, or Personal Conveyance duty status.
- Change a driver's duty status as part of the remote sign-out. The driver will remain in the same duty status even after they are remotely signed out.
Identifying Drivers Who Forgot to Sign Out
To assist in identifying drivers who are potentially at risk for running into HOS violations because they forgot to sign out of the app, and still have a vehicle assignment at the end of their shift, we have added new capabilities to the HOS Report page.
This column identifies the current vehicle assignment. It is also possible to sort on this column.
Vehicle Assignment Filter
An Admin can filter for users who have (or don’t have) a vehicle assignment.
It is possible to remotely sign out deactivated drivers. These drivers show up in the HOS report page, when the “Deactivated Drivers” filter is applied. From there, you can access their logs, and activate a remote sign-out.
When remotely signing out a driver who is part of a driving team, all drivers in the team will be signed out of the app and removed from the vehicle.
If any of the driving team is currently in the Driving/Yard Move/Personal Conveyance status, remote sign-out is restricted.