Moving cameras between vehicle gateways causes lost footage.
Driving footage captured by a Samsara dash camera is associated with a specific vehicle and its vehicle gateway. As a result, when a camera is moved from one vehicle gateway to another, it automatically clears historical footage that has not already been uploaded to your Samsara dashboard.
Therefore, before moving a camera between vehicle gateway devices, remember to retrieve all important video footage.
If your vehicle has been involved in a crash, it is especially important that you don’t move the camera to a new vehicle gateway. If your vehicle or vehicle gateway was damaged due to a crash, you should contact support. Plugging the camera into a different gateway will clear the footage and you will not be able to retrieve any video from it.
Recommendation: Ensure you retrieve ALL relevant and potentially useful footage off the camera before moving it to a new vehicle gateway. You can make sure you have all footage by:
Making any and all video retrieval requests you may need from the 24-40 hours of stored drive time prior to removing the camera.
Ensuring that cameras stay plugged into the original VG immediately after a harsh event.
We understand there may be circumstances where you need to retrieve footage from a dash camera and no longer have access to the historical vehicle gateway. If you are in one of these situations, or have questions about anything else not covered here, please reach out to support.